harvestliberty

A 21st Century Homemaker's Castings on Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Whatever Necessity Requires

Citizen, not Consumer

On this Cyber Monday, I am more than well-versed in the tools I need to get the most out of my consumer experience.  If I haven’t secured a deal in advance from groupon.com, I check upromise.com and ebates.com to see which will maximize a rebate from my online retailer.  And I never buy before searching retailmenot.com for a promotional code.

How sad that as an educated, well-read, progressive American woman I know more about how to optimize my family’s purchasing power than I do about my rights as a citizen.

I was an AP History student in high school, I took a course in college called Resistance and Protest in the American Dream, I have been educated in power dynamics and the authority of self.  Yet still, I remain ignorant of the basics.

As an American citizen, what documents and agreements govern me?  How can I learn to optimize my family’s liberty by my practical and political actions?

To the primary sources!  I think I’ll start here: http://www.archives.gov/

The learning curve to come feels overwhelming.  I trust though that my eventual return will be far greater than the 2% walmart.com is offering.

One comment on “Citizen, not Consumer

  1. commonsince79
    December 1, 2011

    Good Link…

    Its unfortunate how jaded and slanted vectors for information to the masses have come. Walter Cronkite is spinning!!!

    Some one please take the “You know what I think” out of the media!

Share your thoughts . . .

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2011 by in Politics & Philosophy and tagged , , , , , .

It is my intention . . .

. . . to post weekly on Fridays. So mote it be! Now of course, this doesn't mean our relationship with Time jives . . . .

Copyright Notice

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2011-2013. All material on harvestliberty.net belongs to the blog's author and owner, Jennifer S., unless otherwise noted. Ideas are meant to be shared, so feel free to pass on my written words, but please do so respectfully by giving me credit where credit is due and linking back to the original content. Kindly ask permission before using any artwork.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

