harvestliberty

A 21st Century Homemaker's Castings on Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Whatever Necessity Requires

Pixie’s Killer Mac & Cheese

There is perhaps no other recipe that makes me feel more like a revolutionary in the kitchen than this one.  I grew up, as I trust many of you did, on the Velveeta and Kraft versions of this dish, where the “cheese” is like some freeze dried concoction made for astronauts.  It is most certainly not of this earth.

mac-n-cheeseI knew I was in love when I married into this recipe.  It’s from my mother-in-law, and yes, her name is Pixie, but that’s a family story for another day.  Given my affinity for warm, mushy, full-fat food, I’m guessing it really will kill me some day.  But, there are worse ways to go, so I’ve made my peace with that.  For these purposes, I mean “killer” as in “most excellent, dude.”

The recipe lends itself easily to doubling, tripling, quadrupling.  It also freezes well, so I generally make up a big batch and then freeze half.  Take care to store it uncooked in a vessel you can later bake in directly from the freezer.

1. Cook 1 pound of macaroni noodles (or shells, or pipettes, or spirals) as per package instructions, on the side of al dente.  Drain and set aside.

2. Preheat the oven to 350°.

3. In a medium-size cooking pot over medium heat, melt 1/4 cup butter, then add 1/4 cup flour, stirring to form a roux.

4. Stir into the roux 2-1/2 cups of half & half or whole milk (or whatever fat content combination you prefer).  I typically use 1-1/2 cups half & half and 1 cup of 2% milk.

5. Add 1-1/2 cups of parmesan cheese.  There is room for great variation here.  I use whatever I have on hand, but prefer to stick with the Italian cheeses.  Parmesan fresh grated or from a jar both work, as does any combination of it with grated, shredded or cubed asagio, mozzarella, romano, fontina or provolone.

6. Cube, grate or shred 12 ounces of cheddar cheese into the pot.  I am partial to Cabot Vermont White Cheddar, and generally use a mix of extra sharp and seriously sharp.  Use whatever cheese you prefer, keeping in mind that the higher quality cheese you use, the more deliciously cheesy it’ll turn out.

7. Continuously stir the cheese sauce over medium heat until all the cheese has melted into creamy goodness. 

8. Mix the noodles and the cheese sauce thoroughly, then pour the mixture into a greased baking dish.  The recipe will fill one 13″x 9″ rectangular pan, or you can portion it out into baking dishes of your choosing, freezing some for later use.  Keep in mind that the macaroni and cheese will cook faster if you put it in a vessel that has a short depth.

9. Sprinkle the top lightly with bread crumbs or crushed crackers.

10. Cover and bake at 350° for 30 minutes, or until the cheese sauce starts to bubble.  Remove the cover and continue baking for 10-15 minutes until the top is slightly browned.  You can assemble the recipe and leave it in the fridge or a cool kitchen for several hours prior to cooking.  The pasta will absorb moisture, so you may need to add a little extra milk if you are planning to do that.

11. Serve warm.  Salt and pepper to taste.  When fixing leftovers, you may want to mix in a little extra milk during re-heating to keep the sauce creamy.

This recipe is offered in total rebellion as part of Recipe Rites.

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2013.

4 comments on “Pixie’s Killer Mac & Cheese

  1. thejennyevolution
    January 18, 2013

    This looks yummy! Please share this in a new Linky Party –Weekend Kitchen Creations at http://www.weekendkitchencreations.blogspot.com. Please join us, share your delicious creation, build more traffic for your blog and get other scrumptious ideas.

    • Jennifer
      January 24, 2013

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll check your site out.

  2. silentlyheardonce
    January 22, 2013

    I grew up with recipe sorta. We only User extra sharp cheddar, evaporate milk mixed with eggs then baked. No bread crumbs. As an adult I experiment with a mixture of milder cheeses and I use heavy cream instead of half and half. I don’t care for the velveta recipes. I did make the Kraft Mac n cheese when my kids were young.

    • Jennifer
      January 24, 2013

      What an interesting twist – evaporated milk and eggs. But I think I’m more in favor of going even more heavy on the fat, so heavy cream sounds divine.
      It’s great to hear from you!

Share your thoughts . . .

It is my intention . . .

. . . to post weekly on Fridays. So mote it be! Now of course, this doesn't mean our relationship with Time jives . . . .

Copyright Notice

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2011-2013. All material on harvestliberty.net belongs to the blog's author and owner, Jennifer S., unless otherwise noted. Ideas are meant to be shared, so feel free to pass on my written words, but please do so respectfully by giving me credit where credit is due and linking back to the original content. Kindly ask permission before using any artwork.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

