harvestliberty

A 21st Century Homemaker's Castings on Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Whatever Necessity Requires

Mrs. Sparkly’s & Liebster Awards

I always prided myself on being the person who defied the dire predictions of a chain letter and bravely took the consequences of its death at my hands.  So I am very tempted to do the same with blogger awards.  They make me feel squirmy for the same reason those chain letters did — my following through will create an obligation for someone else.

And in all honesty, where nominating other blogs is concerned, I have to admit I will be an abysmal failure.  Not that I don’t think I read some very cool stuff, but that I am old enough to know that I am not a Connector in the Malcom Gladwell, The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, sense of the word.  Never have been, and never will be.  I am not someone who knows large numbers of people and I am terrible at making introductions.

Yet, still, there is something of value here that I do not want to let go.  These awards allow us to do what we call in magic “stirring the cauldron.”  Imagine that all of us in this blogging community are sitting around a cooking fire, working on a stone soup of sorts.  Into it we each place our unique ingredients, we each take our turn stirring with the ladle, we each eat our fill.

Why are we making this soup?  Why amidst our hectic non-virtual lives do we make the time and summon the energy to be here?  Because thought matters.  Words matter.  Art matters.  Shared ideas matter.  What is it to be human if not to engage the process of gathering and integrating knowledge?  And how terribly important that this process be engaged by each and every one of us.  There is great power in owning our story, in being the ones to get to tell our story.

mrs-sparklySo, because it gives me the chance to throw all that in the cauldron, I humbly accept Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award (1)  from the lovely Penny of Penny’s Garden: A Harvest Beyond My Front Door.  And from the mysterious James of Ravemore’s Notes, I gratefully accept The Liebster Award (2).  To Penny and James: thank you.  Thank you for reading, thank you for writing, thank you for showing up.

Which brings me to how I, as my own authority, am going to fulfill the requirements of the awards.

Each requires nominating other blogs.  What I’m going to do instead is maintain a new page on my blog called Merry Meet.  There I will post links to the blogs and sites I recommend.  Anyone on that page can consider themselves awarded either or both of these awards.  Ha!  Obligation fulfilled minus the squirm factor!

Each also asks me to respond to some questions and/or record random facts about myself.  That part is always compelling in the same way it’s fun to sit in an interview and get to talk about yourself, so I’m cool with and have fulfilled that part below.

In the case of the Liebster, I can create questions of my own choosing to ask my nominees.  Also interesting, so I’ve done that, except in the absence of formal nominees, I ask the questions instead to everyone who finds there way to this post and makes it that far in the reading!  Please respond in the comments.

Okay, here goes:

Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments (and then there were nine)

1. Describe yourself in 7 words.  Earth, Air, Fire, Water, Spirit, Love, Whiskey

2. What keeps you up at night? Literally: nothing.  Figuratively: the military-industrial complex.

3. Who would you like to be? Me in all my parts.

4. What are you wearing right now? Jeans and gray wool sweater.  Finally got cold around these parts.

5. What scares you? Greed.

6. What are the best and worst things about blogging? Writing.

7. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I’d have the voice of a gospel singer.

8. Slankets, yes or no? No clue what they are and living just fine without them so not going to look it up on Google.

9. Tell us something about the person who nominated you.  Penny makes me smile.  She lives in Melbourne, Australia, yet despite the oceans and cultures between us, we are both exploring the joy and yummy food an urban backyard garden brings.  There is something incredibly hopeful about this for me.  May kitchen gardens prosper throughout the globe!

Liebster, 11 Random Facts About Myself

I love doing laundry.  I am 5’8″ tall.  In 1988, I visited China.  I sense the fey on my land working my garden and bee hive.  I have two biological children and one god child.  I will not drink coffee without cream.  One of my favorite books is Robbins’ Another Roadside Attraction.  I have climbed to the summit of Giant Mountain in a dress.  I am a goddess of force and form.  I was once a wisdom keeper.  I will travel to the ends of the earth to hear my favorite music.

liebster-awardLiebster, Ravemore’s Questions

1. Did you think I was going to make this easy for you? *Grins evilly*

Easy is in the eye of the beholder.  I expected a challenge, yes, but what fun would a cake walk be?  Ultimately a fun challenge is easier than a boring cake walk.

2. If your airplane crashed on top of a mountain, half of the passengers survived, half of the passengers died, there was no food, and no rescue was imminent… What would you eat?

Assuming that I haven’t struck it rich and I’m still flying coach and we are still prohibited from carrying through airport security the one resource we all need to live, then either one of two things would happen.  One, I wouldn’t be flying at all, so the scenario is moot; or two, I was there, the plane did crash.  And if the plane did crash, again, with no personal water supplies, I think I’d be focused on that elemental first.  My guess is that I’d have some time to trance eat the fat off various parts of my own body (not going to carve myself up, but the mind is a powerful tool).  Then, if we’re still stuck there, and the weather or geography isn’t conducive to eating off the land, I’ll shove that dead human animal flesh Grace Slick style in my mouth any way that I can.  I would, prior to this, work like hell to get a fire started.

3. Do you think money can make you happy?

Yes, but not as much as Time and Space.  And since when is the goal happiness?

4. Have you ever seen a spirit?

I see them in the mystical place behind my eyes, but I am more inclined to hear them as voices in my head.  (Note to self: erase when the men with the straight-jacket come for me).  Sometimes I catch something in consensual reality in my peripheral vision, but if I turn to look, as is biologically ingrained, it’s gone.  Gotta stop turning to look!

5. If you were going to be burned at the stake and had one wish, what would it be?

For rain.  No, make that the deluge.

6. What does “evil” mean to you?

The deliberate causing of harm.

7. Can “Good exist without “evil”?

I exist.  But I gather you’re asking more in a universe sense.  It’s all relative.  The duality good-evil is useful, it allows us to stick a wedge in abstract thought long enough to examine things more closely.  But it’s also limited.  It makes us think things have to be either, or.  When in truth, things are.  I witness the balancing of the universe.  I believe that how we humans term the experiencing of that balance is purely contextual.  What’s evil to one is good to another.

8. If you were given a stick of underarm deodorant in your Christmas stocking, what would you do?

I won’t know until I’m in the moment.  So many variables in this question . . . and what was the questioner trying to elicit?

9. Are you a “dog person” or a “cat person”?

Human person.  Sometimes Ionesco Rhinocéros person.

10. What is your passion?

A fiery feeling in my belly.  A will inside that rises like a light.  When it engages I feel my energy uplevel, my pulse quickens.  My mind opens, possibility enters.  My passion is an energy to be harnessed.

11. Have you ever “passed gas” in public and blamed someone else?

Aren’t we all doing this?  C’mon, greenhouse methane warming is all from cows and pigs?  Get real.

Liebster Award, My Questions to You

I invite anyone who feels called to answer any or all of these questions in the comments.

1. What does liberty mean to you?  Or, if you prefer, how about freedom or liberation?

2. Where in your home is liberty present?

3. What is America’s greatest strength?  What is her greatest challenge?

4. Is it possible to preserve autonomy in the context of a society of mutual cooperation?

5. Who is this flower above you?  What is the work of this God?

6. Would you like to live next to the Araboolies on Liberty Street?

7. What is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

8.  Is it the dreaming that’s real?

9. Who can the weather command?

10. Have you ever seen a dragon?

11. Is the shape of your life yours to choose?

Go on, I double dare you — scroll down to the comments and add something to the soup.

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2013.

_______________________________

(1) Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award.  Answer the above questions.  Nominate ten other blogs that add sparkle to your life.

(2) The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. The word ” Liebster” comes from German and can mean the sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, most beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.  Thank the person who nominated you. When you receive the award, you post 11 random facts about yourself and answer the questions asked by the person who nominated you.  Pass the award onto 11 other blogs (while making sure you notify the blogger that you nominated them!).  You write up 11 NEW questions directed towards YOUR nominees.  You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated your own blog!

3 comments on “Mrs. Sparkly’s & Liebster Awards

  1. Ravemore
    January 24, 2013

    :-) I loved your answers my dear… your wit is sharp as a needle, and I always adore good analogies… A very enjoyable read.

  2. silentlyheardonce
    January 25, 2013

    I loved your answers too. You provided the usual smile. I like your unique response to your awards. Also I learned I shouldn’t have been a recipient for the Liebster award that I recently received and had over the 200 followers. I in turn passed it on to others who i have no idea how many followers they have. Last congratulation on being admired by our peers.

  3. pennystewartgarden
    January 27, 2013

    Thank you for your kind words – well deserved! xx

Share your thoughts . . .

It is my intention . . .

. . . to post weekly on Fridays. So mote it be! Now of course, this doesn't mean our relationship with Time jives . . . .

Copyright Notice

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2011-2013. All material on harvestliberty.net belongs to the blog's author and owner, Jennifer S., unless otherwise noted. Ideas are meant to be shared, so feel free to pass on my written words, but please do so respectfully by giving me credit where credit is due and linking back to the original content. Kindly ask permission before using any artwork.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

