harvestliberty

A 21st Century Homemaker's Castings on Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Whatever Necessity Requires

An Open Letter

rosemaryDear Family, Friends & Readers,

I will not be at liberty to write for some time.  I am not at liberty to share the details of the what and why.  In many moons I will be free to talk and I will do so.  Until then, I want to leave you with two things.

The first is an excerpt from a piece I wrote called The Power of the Powerless:

“Under the current ideology, we have given government access to the most intimate aspects of our lives.  And sometimes the agenda of that government might be in line with our beliefs, but it could as easily express an opposite belief.  The point is that if we allow government to implement policy at the level of intimate, individual decision, it can forever intrude and the harsh flashlight of the night raid could easily be blinding you next — whoever you are.”

Make no mistake, this can and does happen.  And the antidote is to be Havel’s green grocer and proudly hang your truth sign in your shop window.  As soon as I can, I will hang my sign.

praying mantisUntil then, I will be seeking The Peace of Wild Things:

“When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free” (1).

Love,

Jennifer

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2013.

_____________

(1) poem by Wendell Berry.

4 comments on “An Open Letter

  1. IdealisticRebel
    February 10, 2013

    Take good care of yourself.

  2. silentlyheardonce
    February 10, 2013

    Very pretty both. I hope you return soon.

  3. graybyrd
    June 27, 2013

    thinking about y’all. good wishes towards three very kind and loving people.

    • Jennifer
      June 28, 2013

      Gray! You’ve been on my mind too. Needing to tell you about Kurgarra. Will you send me your email privately? You can write me at harvestliberty@gmail.com. Thanks for your good wishes. We are in limbo but alive, and when you’re still breathing, power remains, right? All will be revealed: in that we trust. Cheers to you and your wonderful family.

Share your thoughts . . .

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2013 by in About this Project and tagged , , , .

Navigation

It is my intention . . .

. . . to post weekly on Fridays. So mote it be! Now of course, this doesn't mean our relationship with Time jives . . . .

Copyright Notice

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2011-2013. All material on harvestliberty.net belongs to the blog's author and owner, Jennifer S., unless otherwise noted. Ideas are meant to be shared, so feel free to pass on my written words, but please do so respectfully by giving me credit where credit is due and linking back to the original content. Kindly ask permission before using any artwork.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

