Grassroots Gratitudes

The first Thanksgiving as best I can figure out was all about food.  Not the processed, packaged, gourmet epicurious.com variety.  No, I mean food.  Basic, simple food — whatever was successfully harvested, hunted, or gathered.

More, the first Thanksgiving was about the sharing of food.  It was about the hungry winter to come.  It was about survival.

I am thirty-eight years old and I have never gone hungry a single day.  I tell my children that we are wealthy beyond the kings and queens of old, beyond today’s 1% financial elite.

On this day of Thanksgiving, I raise my glass to each of you in fervent prayer: “May you never hunger.  May you never thirst.”

Share your thoughts . . .

