Breath Work

Today, in our garden, my only job is to breathe.

I breathe in gratitude for the brilliant blue depths of the North Carolina sky. 
I breathe out love for the oaks and maples and pines that root into the space we share.  

I breathe in gratitude for the warmth and light of the slowly rising sun. 
I breathe out love for the rye and clover and vetch, my winter companions. 

I breathe in gratitude for the shimmering drops of dew that quench thirst. 
I breathe out love for the generation of plants to come, waiting now as seeds.

I breathe in gratitude for the earth at my feet, the dirt that feeds my family. 
I breathe out love for the brave seedlings puzzling into this too early spring. 

I breathe in gratitude for the mysterious minerals glinting like gems. 
I breathe out love for the wondrous quality that winds through all.  

And I remember as I breathe that this same air has been here since the beginning – it has flowed through the ancient oceans, through the lungs of dinosaurs and the cells of prehistoric plants.  It has been in the song of every bird and it has traveled through the bodies of my ancestors since the time before language.

This same air, that I breathe – here, today, now, present in my garden – is a gift from way back.  And as I breathe in, I take what I need, and as I breathe out, I give what I can. In and out. Receiving and giving. Breathing (1).

So when I learn as I did this week, via SignOn.org, that Michael Taylor was appointed in August 2011 as the Senior Advisor to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), I am still going to simply breathe (2).

When I learn about Mr. Taylor’s ricocheting between roles with the FDA, King & Spaulding (a private-sector law firm representing Monsanto) and Monsanto, I am still going to simply breathe (3).

I am here now.  I am here now on land that can feed me.  I do not report to the FDA.

Every seedling grown in the liberty of this moment counts.  Every one.  Whether grown in a pot on a fire escape or in a country field or in an abandoned lot or in a suburban lawn.  That seedling is here, now, alive, present.  And the food that it produces, you will hold it in your hands.  You will eat its energy.  We will call it a victory.

While the Taylors and Monsantos of the world are grasping at power illusions, remember that you possess enormous power yourself.  It is a power as old as time, our sustenance through the ages: Breathe.

© Jennifer S. and harvestliberty.net, 2012.

___________________________

(1) via Starhawk’s book, The Earth Path: Grounding Your Spirit in the Rhythms of Nature

(2) via Jeffrey Smith: You’re Appointing Who? Please Obama, Say It’s Not So!

(3) via WTF! Obama is Considering Monsanto Shill Michael Taylor to Head New Food Safety Working Group – Democratic Underground.

Share your thoughts . . .

